2nd ESRS Congress

april, 1974

08apr(apr 8)01:0011(apr 11)01:002nd ESRS CongressEvent Type :Congress


Event Details

Sleep 1974, Proceedings of the Second ESRS Congress, P. Levin, W. P. Koella (eds.), Basel, Karger 1975

Mario Bertini chaired the Local Committee with 19 members, all interested and engaged in Sleep Research, and working in anyone of the sleep labs in Rome, Milan, Pisa, Ancona, Bologna. Professor Guiseppe Moruzzi of Pisa was not only Honorary Presidency of the Congress but participated also in a memorable round table discussion on the Functions of Sleep. The other distinguished participants were W. C. Dement, I. Oswald, W. P. Koella, E. Hartman, T. Radil-Weiss, D. Foulkes, and G. F. Rossi The scientific program consisted of 5 Symposia and 80 free communications.

The five symposia were dedicated to the following subjects:

  1. Sleep and instinct (chaired by P. L. Parmeggiani)
  2. Eendocrinology and biochemistry of sleep (V.G. Longo and W. P. Koella)
  3. Sleep episodes (P. Passouant)
  4. Psychology of sleep and dreaming (D. Foulkes)
  5. Sleep and intracranial pathology (D. H. Ingvar)

At the Business Meeting 14 new members from Italy, France, Switzerland, Sweden, Finland, Germany and the USA were accepted into the ESRS. Except for Gian-Franco Rossi, who wanted to be replaced as Vice-President by Mario Bertini, the Board of Officers was re-elected. Werner P. Koella was to remain President for another “intercongressional period” and Dieter Loew, Dieter Schneider-Helmert and D. Scollo-Lavizzari were to remain Secretary, Assistant Secretary and Treasurer, respectively, for as long as they wished to handle the job. Beginning with the second congress it became a tradition that the organizer of the congress was elected as Vice-President for the next turn of the Board. At the meeting it was decided to collect an annual membership fee of 30 SFr.

ESRS Board

President: W. P. Koella (Basel)
Vice-President: G. F. Rossi (Roma)
Secretary: D. M. Loew (Basel)
Assistant-Secretary: D. Schneider (Brugge)
Treasurer: D. Scollo-Lavizzari (Basel)

Local Organizing Committee

Mario Bertini


8 (Monday) 01:00 - 11 (Thursday) 01:00



April 11th, 1974
© 2021 European Sleep Research Society.
All rights reserved.