Dr. Zoran Dogas

Professor of Neuroscience
Department of Neuroscience
University of Split School of Medicine

Croatian Somnological Society

Zoran Dogas, MD, PhD is Professor of Neuroscience and Head of the Department of Neuroscience at the University of Split School of Medicine. He is also Director of the Split Sleep Medicine Center of the University Hospital and Split School of Medicine in Croatia.

He was born and raised in Split, Croatia. He graduated from the Zagreb University School of Medicine, was trained in Neurophysiology in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA and Split, Croatia, and performed research fellowship at the Anesthesia Department, Medical College of Wisconsin. From 1997 he founded and directed the Department of Neuroscience at the University of Split School of Medicine and started experimental Basic Neuroscience Laboratory. Since 2002 he founded sleep laboratory, which is developed into the present Split Sleep Medicine Center. He is also a present chair of the Department of Neuroscience at the University of Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina.

He has authored several book chapters in physiology, neuroscience and principles of scientific research, and over 75 scientific publications in indexed international journals on the topics of neurophysiology and neuropharmacology of breathing control, neuroplasticity of breathing, anesthetic effects on breathing, sleep medicine, medical education, and medical ethics. He was PI on 6 research grants, and mentor on 4 masters and 9 doctoral theses.

He is a member of several Croatian and international societies, current President of the Croatian Somnological Society, and past chair of the Education Committee of the European Sleep Research Society. He served 4 years as an Executive Committee of the Assembly of National Sleep Societies member and co-chair, as well as 2 years as a board member of the ESRS. He has organized several international scientific meetings and is a coordinator of the Brain Awareness Week in Split in the last 12 years.

He also serves as a present vice-dean for teaching and student affairs at the University of Split, School of Medicine. He was awarded Annual Science Award for 2012 by the Croatian Parliament.