Polskie Towarzystwo Badań nad Snem (PTBS)

Polish Sleep Research Society


Prof. Wojciech Jernajczyk

Email: jernajcz@ipin.edu.pl

Presentation held during the ANSS meeting in: Brussels, Belgium, 28. – 30.04.2016 (PDF)

Foundation year


Number of members


Composition of members (degree, specialties, subspecialties, etc.)

36 % Pulmonologists, 22 % Laryngologists, 18 % Psychiatrists, 15 % PhDs, 9 % Neurologists

Historical perspective of the society

The society was founded in Warsaw in 1992. The first president of society was Prof. J. Nare˛bski. In 2007 the conditions and procedures for the accreditation of sleep centers, and certification for physicians were formulated.
Altogether, seven National PTBS Congresses were organized.

Important sleep physicians / researchers in the history of the NSS

Clinical research: Halina Ekiert, Karolina Jus, Andrzej Jus, Waldemar Szelenberger, Andrzej Kukwa, Zbigniew Zieliński, Robert Pływaczewski, Adam Wichniak, Wojciech Jernajczyk
Basic research: Juliusz Narębski, Edyta Jurkowlaniec

Number of Sleep Medicine Centers


Number of Sleep Research Centers


Accreditation / Certification procedure

Accreditation of Sleep Medicine Centers procedure is based on guidelines of the Polish Sleep Research Society that comply with accreditation guidelines of the European Sleep Research Society with some exceptions, depending on local customs or regulations.
Certification of professionals in sleep medicine is based on the certification program that complies with guidelines of the European Sleep Research Society with some exceptions, depending on local customs or regulations.

Educational programs

The Society organizes educational program on the following topics:

Polysomnography and Diagnostics
Sleep medicine for professionals from sleep apnea centers
Sleep medicine for psychiatrists and neurologists

Present activities, working groups, task forces

The following working groups are active in the Polish Sleep Research Society:

Certification of physicians in Sleep Medicine
Certification in Sleep Medicine for technicians
Accreditation of sleep laboratories
Transfer of the ESRS and AASM guidelines
Training and Education in Sleep Medicine
Reimbursement management in sleep medicine


The Society honors polish scientists who have demonstrated excellence in sleep research with the Prof. Juliusz Narębski Award.

January 29, 2019
© 2021 European Sleep Research Society.
All rights reserved.