April 2016 – Reports – ESRS ANSS EU Committee

Published in ESRS Newsletter April 2016

ESRS EU Committee

(November 2015 – March 2016)

Current Members (2014 – 2016):

Roberto Amici (Coordinator), Diego Garcia Borreguero (Vice-Coordinator), Marta Gonçalves, Damien Léger, Pierre Hervé Luppi; Walter McNicholas, Lino Nobili, Tiina Paunio, Philippe Peigneux, Dieter Riemann, Debra J. Skene

The main aims of the Committee are: i) to bring the topics of “sleep” and “sleep disorders” to the attention of  the EU in order to receive support for research and teaching activities; ii) to promote sleep-related issues from a political point of view at a European and National level.

A major achievement over the past few months was the finalization, in collaboration with the Assembly of the National Sleep Societies (ANSS), of a document aimed at proposing “Sleep and Sleep Disorders” as a topic for Horizon 2020 upcoming call 2018-19.

The document will be presented to relevant EU officers from DG Research and Innovation and DG Mobility and Transport during a meeting entitled, “European Sleep meets the European Union: Measuring Sleepiness, the Need for Common European Rules.” This meeting will be held in Brussels, under the joint organization of the ESRS and the Assembly of the National Sleep Societies, during the forthcoming annual ANSS meeting on April 29. After the formal approval of the Presidents of the European NSS, the document will be sent to the Horizon 2020 Committee which is in charge of finalizing the 2018-19 call.

During the April 29 meeting, the EU officers will be addressed on the risks of insufficient sleep and sleepiness and on the need of developing new tools for the assessment of sleepiness. Furthermore, the need of more funding for education programs on sleep and sleepiness in Europe will be claimed. The finalized program of the meeting for invited participants is provided below.

Roberto Amici

ESRS EU Committee Chair

European Sleep meets the European Union
“Measuring sleepiness: the need for common European rules”

Annual Meeting of the ANSS in the European Sleep Research Society

Marivaux Hotel Congress & Seminar Centre Boulevard Adolphe Maxlaan 98 – 1000 Bruxelles/Brussels
Friday, April 29, 2016 – 11.00h – 13.00h



Philippe Peigneux, President of the European Sleep Research Society (ESRS) Roberto Amici, Chair of the EU Committee of the ESRSLiborio Parrino, Chair of the Executive Committee of the Assembly of the European Sleep Research Societies (ANSS)

European Sleep

Board, EU Committee, and Education Committee of the ESRS Executive Committee of the ANSS
Presidents of the European National Sleep Societies

European Union
DG Mobility and Transport:

• Tina Kobilsek, Road Safety Unit, Driving Licences and Qualifications for Professional Drivers

• Ivan Lukač, Policy Officer, Road Safety Unit, Driving Licences and Infringement Procedures

• Espen Rindedal, Road Safety Unit, Driving Licences and Qualifications for Professional Drivers

DG Research and Innovation:

• Catherin Berens, Scientific Officer, Head Sector Neuroscience

• Mark Goldammer, Project Officer, Neuroscience Unit

Preliminary Program

Chair: Philippe Peigneux, ESRS President (Brussels), Ivan Lukač (Policy Officer, Road Safety Unit, DG Mobility and Transport)


Philippe Peigneux, ESRS President (Brussels)

Welcome and addressing notes


Roberto Amici, ESRS EU Committee Chair (Bologna,) and Marta Gonçalves, ESRS Board (Oporto)

The “Wake-up bus”: The first European awareness campaign 


Liborio Parrino, ANSS Chair (Parma)

Insufficient sleep and sleepiness: a public health and social problem


Walter Mc Nicholas, ESRS Board (Dublin)

The need for new population-based studies on sleepiness in Europe


Dirk Pevernagie, ESRS Education Committee (Kempenhaeghe)

The need for more education on sleep and sleepiness in Europe


Pierre Hervé Luppi, ESRS Board (Lyon)

Sleep and sleepiness towards HORIZON 2020


Catherin Berens (Scientific Officer, Head Sector Neuroscience, DG Research and Innovation)

Horizon 2020 and Brain Research


Ivan Lukač (Policy Officer, Road Safety Unit, DG Mobility and Transport)

Concluding Remarks


Open Discussion