March 2015 – Reports – ESRS ANSS EU Committee

Published in ESRS Newsletter March 2015

ESRS EU CommitteeReport on the activities of the EU Committee: November 2014 – March 2015

Current Members (2014 – 2016):

Roberto Amici (Coordinator), Diego Garcia Borreguero (Vice-Coordinator), Marta Gonçalves, Damien Léger, Pierre Hervé Luppi; Walter McNicholas, Lino Nobili, Tiina Paunio, Philippe Peigneux, Dieter Riemann, Debra J. Skene

The main aims of the Committee are: i) to bring the topics of “sleep” and “sleep disorders” to the attention of the EU in order to receive support for research and teaching activities; ii) to promote sleep-related issues from a political point of view at a European and National level.

Following the achievements of recent years, the decision was taken to enlarge the Committee and potentiate its activity. Thus, every member has been given the responsibility of operating individually in order to strengthen the relationship between one of the four major pillars of interest for the ESRS within the EU (i.e. Health, Research, Education, and Transport) and the respective ESRS Committee. Furthermore, the interaction between the EU Committee and the Assembly of the National Sleep Societies will be increased in order to better homogenize and synchronize efforts aimed at increasing the visibility of sleep research and sleep medicine in Europe.

Following the renewal of the EU Parliament and Commissions, new contacts have been or are going to be established with EU Officers from the different pillars of interest. A meeting of the members of the EU Committee, aimed at evaluating and discussing the different feed-back from the EU Officers with a view to promoting new initiatives will be held in Barcelona on April 15th, and will be followed by a meeting with the Presidents of the National Sleep Societies in Prague on May 2.

Roberto Amici

ESRS EU Committee Coordinator