March 2017 – Reports – ESRS ANSS EU Committee

Published in ESRS Newsletter March 2017

ESRS ANSS EU Committee

Report on the activities: November 2016 – March 2017

Members (2016 – 2018):
Roberto Amici (Coordinator), Diego Garcia Borreguero (Vice-Coordinator), Liborio Parrino (EC ANSS Chair), Damien Leger, Pierre-Hervé Luppi, Walter McNicholas, Lino Nobili, Tiina Paunio, Philippe Peigneux, Dieter Riemann, Debra J. Skene, Johan Verbraecken

The main aims of the Committee are: i) to bring the topics of “sleep” and “sleep disorders” to the attention of the EU in order to receive support for research and teaching activities; ii) to promote sleep-related issues from a political point of view at a European and national level.

The activity of the EU Committee in the past months has been aimed at elaborating new strategies in order to put forward, at the level of the EU Commission, “Sleep and Sleep Disorders” as a topic for the Horizon 2020 upcoming call 2018-20. At the end of 2016, in collaboration with the Assembly of the National Sleep Societies (ANSS), a document has been finalized (please find it at: https://esrs.eu/about/committees/esrs-anss-eu-committee/documents/) and sent by every NSS President to the National Contact Points of the pillar Health of the DG “Research and Innovation”, in order to provide the National Members of the Advisory Board who is in charge to finalize the Horizon Health 2020 call for 2018-20 with the document. The outcomes of this initiative will be discussed in the forthcoming meeting of the ANSS, which will be held in Reykjavík, Iceland, 5 to 7 May 2017.

Roberto Amici

Leave a Reply