December 2015 – Reports – Sleep Medicine Committee (SMC)

Published in ESRS Newsletter December 2015

ESRS Sleep Medicine Committee (SMC)

Members (2014 – 2016):

Thomas Penzel (Coordinator), Walter McNicholas (Vice-Coordinator), Erna Sif Arnardottir, Simone de Lacy, Marie-Pia d’Ortho, Colin Espie, Diego Garcia-Borreguero, Lino Nobili, Tiina Paunio, Dirk Pevernagie, Thomas Pollmächer, Javier Puertas, Andrea Rodenbeck, Marco Zucconi

The Sleep Medicine Committee organized the fourth examination for ESRS somnologists and the second grandparent examination for sleep technologists in Barcelona during the ESRS / ERS Sleep and Breathing congress on the 15th of April 2015. Most people passed the exam. Now, the exam has been passed over to the Education Committee, and there it will be further developed.

The Sleep Medicine Committee is continuing to work toward the recognition of Sleep Medicine as a medical subspecialty in Europe. It is also continuing the activity in developing a strategy for the accreditation of sleep medicine centers. Different categories of sleep centers (training and research centers, multi-discipline centers, single-discipline centers) should be developed. The role of the ESRS is more of an umbrella role by helping national sleep societies rather than doing accreditation in person. This activity is aligned with other committees, national sleep societies, with the ERS as the most important stakeholder.

Thomas Penze