March 2017 – Reports – Sleep Medicine Committee (SMC)

Published in ESRS Newsletter March 2017

ESRS Sleep Medicine Committee (SMC)

Members (2016 – 2018):

Thomas Penzel (Coordinator), Tiina Paunio (Vice-Coordinator), Erna Sif Arnardóttir (EC ECRN and ANSS Representative), Marie-Pia d’Ortho, Colin Espie, Diego García-Borreguero, Lino Nobili, Dirk Pevernagie, Thomas Pollmächer, Javier Puertas, Andrea Rodenbeck

The SMC focuses on the recognition of Sleep Medicine as a medical subspecialty in Europe. The SMC coordinates activities for the accreditation of sleep medicine centers. The current plan is that the ESRS has an umbrella role helping national sleep societies to implement national accreditation. In order to consent rules on this a SMC meeting is planned for 2017. This activity is aligned with the national sleep societies, and the ERS as the most important stakeholder. The development of standards of practice papers and clinical guidelines will come next. Over the winter months the SMC held no meeting and no teleconference.

Thomas Penzel