November 2016 – Reports – Sleep Medicine Committee (SMC)

Published in ESRS Newsletter November 2016

ESRS Sleep Medicine Committee (SMC)

Current Members (2016 – 2018):

Thomas Penzel (Coordinator), Tiina Paunio (Vice-Coordinator), Erna Sif Arnardóttir, Marie-Pia d’Ortho, Colin Espie, Diego García-Borreguero, Lino Nobili, Dirk Pevernagie, Thomas Pollmächer, Javier Puertas, Andrea Rodenbeck

Previous Members (2014 – 2016):

Thomas Penzel (Coordinator), Erna Sif Arnardottir, Simone de Lacy, Marie-Pia d’Ortho, Colin Espie, Diego Garcia-Borreguero, Walter McNicholas, Lino Nobili, Tiina Paunio, Dirk Pevernagie, Thomas Pollmächer, Javier Puertas, Andrea Rodenbeck, Marco Zucconi

The SMC held a meeting during the ESRS congress in Bologna discussing the past and future activities and strategies. The SMC did discuss its future role with the new ESRS board as well. The SMC continues to focus on the recognition of Sleep Medicine as a medical subspecialty in Europe. The SMC coordinates activities for the accreditation of sleep medicine centers. The current plan is that the ESRS has an umbrella role helping national sleep societies to implement national accreditation. In order to consent rules on this a SMC meeting is planned for next year. This activity is aligned with the national sleep societies, and the ERS as the most important stakeholder. The development of standards of practice papers and clinical guidelines will come next.

Thomas Penzel